Skip to content

That's Not Important, now.

oh, moment is over.

I’ve got myself a new job. After all the pain and b.s. that I put my husband through complaining pretty endlessly about my job, I put in my notice last month and told them I was leaving. I just couldn’t do the job anymore. Retail isn’t easy, if some says to you it is they’re full of shit. On top of the 45 minute drive just to get there, which put me in an awful mood to begin with, I was losing faith in humanity as a whole working there. I can’t stand looking at someone and thinking of them as a transaction, a means to profit, a number or any detached form than the one I’m used to; I’m not a people person. That being said, I hate feeling so detached from people and retail makes me think of them as a nuisance and someone just there to mess up my numbers . So, I’ve left that place of business and began work at another retail establishment, because at the end of the day I’m good at my job.

This one is easier, considerably. I’m no longer a manager, I don’t have to worry about anyone else by myself and I don’t have to think about profits, numbers, who’s trained…nope, just me. I love it. I like going into work and leaving work and not thinking about work when I get home. Not to mention this place is a craft store, hello happiness! I will spend so much money here but my house will look fabulous. *snap*

But now I’m sad that I’ve left the people that I’ve come to know, even if the ones I knew very little.  As I said earlier in this post, I’m not a people person which is true, but I’m also a contradiction. While I don’t like people, for the most part, I still crave and need social interaction to keep some semblance of sanity. It  is difficult for me to leave people and to think about how quickly we move in and out of the circles of other people’s perception. I made a huge move back in May, leaving an area that I was comfortable with and friends I knew and loved and I know for a fact I’ll never see most of them again and that’s difficult to me some how.

I grew up in a state that by definition is mostly one big small town(HA!). In Utah, people don’t leave all that often, they stay where they were raised and then have kids and raise those kids never moving very far. It happens, occasionally, that people move away but every time I go back to Utah I’ll see people I knew in high school at the local mall. I guess that’s why it’s difficult for me to comprehend how I’ll never see some people again, mostly because I liked most of the people I worked with back in California and I’d rather see them again than some of the people I went to high school with.

I guess I still haven’t gotten used to this nomadic lifestyle I’m leading these days. I still form attachments to people as soon as I decide I like them. Shit, I still miss teachers that had an impact on me from Elementary school. I’m a sentimental person, you wouldn’t know it by looking at me, but I am. I just need to make a business card with my facebook link on it and pass it onto anyone I make an attachment to. I could see that becoming expensive though.

