Skip to content

That's Not Important, now.

oh, moment is over.

Thanks to the wonders of the library, I just finished the book, “The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms” by N. K. Jemisin.

I liked it, quite a bit and I will definitely be picking up the second one when it is released.

Snippet from the author’s website:

” Yeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky, seat of the ruling Arameri family. There, to her shock, Yeine is named an heiress to the king. But the throne of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is not easily won, and Yeine is thrust into a vicious power struggle with a pair of cousins she never knew she had. As she fights for her life, she draws ever closer to the secrets of her mother’s death and her family’s bloody history.

With the fate of the world hanging in the balance, Yeine will learn how perilous it can be when love and hate — and gods and mortals — are bound inseparably.”

I found Yeine interesting and not a bad protagonist to follow around as she discovered her mother’s family and all their secrets. The gods who are basically slaves in the palace are probably my favorite characters, especially Nahadoth but I feel like most people will feel that way. The only problem I found with the book was the predictability of the story line. It was a very imaginative idea, entertaining execution but you found yourself not being surprised by what was happening, especially some of the larger plot twists. I didn’t hate that though, don’t misunderstand. Like I said, I will read the second and the third books and for a new author this is a very good release. I’m hopeful for future releases because she has an ease to her writing that many authors lack, I finished the book in two days and enjoyed it well enough.

I would suggest checking the book out, probably at the library though because while I enjoyed it, I doubt it will be in my revolving book list.

FYI: Few books make the list, revolving book list, so it’s not an insult. I honestly don’t like reading books more than once.

